Wayne State University

Aim Higher

Committees

Did you know that you do not have to be a commissioner on the COSW to join a committee? The programs and services of the COSW are made possible only through the work of our dedicated committee members and volunteers. If you are interested in serving on one or more of the committees listed below, please contact the Committee Chair/Co-chair.

Career Development

Chair:  Tamara Serrano Chandler - eq0090@wayne.edu  |  Vice-Chair:  Patricia Dixon - dq6546@wayne.edu

The Career Development Committee concerns itself with developing and presenting programs that enhance women's career advancement.

Gender and Equity

Co-Chairs:  Darlene Pennington-Johnson -  ao2825@wayne.edu  |  Kathryn Wrench - kwrench@wayne.edu

The Gender and Equity Committee addresses issues related to the current status of gender and equity in the campus community.

Health and Wellness

Chair:  Aleksandra Stoklosa - ax3119@wayne.edu  |  Vice-Chair:  Stephanie Smothers - stephanie.e.smothers@gmail.com

The mission of the Health and Wellness Committee is to provide education and support pertaining to physical and mental health issues affecting women.

Information and Research

Chair:  Alexandra Orchard - alexandra@wayne.edu

The Research Committee examines women’s standing in the university community and provides informational support for issues of concern.

Social Justice

Chair:  Sara Byczek - sara.byczek@wayne.edu  |  Vice-Chair:  Geari Viney - geari.viney@wayne.edu

The Social Justice Committee collaborates with the campus community and local area organizations to host events that support the Commission's work.

Public Relations and Marketing

Chair:  Devon Sterk - devon@wayne.edu

The Public Relations and Marketing Committee's goal is to successfully market events and the COSW at large to the campus and community. Stay connected via the events calendar, Facebook, e-mail updates, and more. To join our e-mail list, click here.

Learn more about membership through the Become a Member page.